January 18, 2009


The January 18, 2009 GTPCC meeting had a total of 19 members and 9 guests in attendance. 

After the Dr. Samís Q&A discussion group at 2:30, the meeting was called to order by President Don Schoening, welcoming all to our new meeting location and introducing the guest speaker, Mr. George Perrett, public affairs manager for Time Warner. Mr. Perrett gave a presentation on broadband (part II) and RoadRunner. 

The presentation included the upcoming transition to digital from analog on February 19th, channel changes to HD and improvements expected. Also discussed was the future channel standardization, RR bandwidths (Lite, standard, turbo), service calls and the upcoming improvements on DVRís, the introduction of government regulations.

Digital phones and services was briefly discussed as well as the coming control by the Utility commission. There will be many changes made in the near future. 

Vice President, Dr. Giglio noted upcoming programs for February (Ira Wilsker on IoVP and Flash Drive Uses and March, (Steven Fore of Computer Shak on the new Intel 17 chip set). The club had one membership renewal. 

The door prize drawing was held by Treasurer Jerry McDaniel. Todays winners:

   Elizabeth Votaw won USB Mouse with Pad, provided by Computer Shak.

   Gene Koch won Siber Power Surge Protector, provided by Zydeco Tech.

   Martha Royall won Storage Cubicals provided by GTPCC. 

The Meeting adjourned at 4:35 Pm.


Submitted by Don Schoening for

Adam Balla, GTPCC Secretary